Sustainability is directly visible on Maestrani's products. An example of this commitment is the "All Natural" initiative that Maestrani launched for the entire Minor brand range in September 2022.


Sustainability has always been firmly rooted in the Maestrani company's DNA. And as a pioneer in sustainability, Maestrani is taking an important step into the future with the launch of its All Natural product range. 
All Natural covers four important areas of sustainability:
- use of exclusively natural ingredients
- 100% Max Havelaar Fairtrade-certified cocoa
- no palm oil
- 100% climate neutrality thanks to offsetting of its CO2 emissions (more information on offsetting and reducing our CO2 emissions can be found below)

In addition, it is important for us to make our packaging increasingly sustainable.
All Natural will gradually extend to the entire Minor brand range. With its All Natural programme, Maestrani is once again fulfilling its pioneering role in the Swiss chocolate market.
 

100% natural

100% Fairtrade cocoa

No palm oil

myclimate certification of emissions offsetting

100% natural

Our Minor products offer a particularly natural taste sensation because we use absolutely no artificial additives.
We have already come a long way along this path: All Minor chocolate products are 100% natural.

Wald

100% fairtrade cocoa

Minor products can be enjoyed with a clear conscience as they are Max Havelaar certified.
Max Havelaar Fairtrade certification guarantees that our products have been fairly traded. For example, the payment of minimum prices to cocoa farmers and a Fairtrade premium are central elements of the certification. In addition, it is also committed to protecting children from child labour through its standards and with the assistance of employees of the producer networks on site. Compliance with Fairtrade standards is monitored by FLOCERT, an independent organisation.

Kakaofrucht

No palm oil! Minor All Natural products are palm-oil-free

The use of palm oil in confectionery is controversial and there are pros and cons around its use. Maestrani has decided to opt for alternatives to palm oil and its Minor All Natural products are therefore palm-oil-free.

Landschaft

Emissions offsetting with myclimate certification

Naturally, the procurement of raw materials and production of chocolate give rise to CO2. Maestrani has been reducing its CO2 emissions for many years (more information can be found in our Sustainability Report -> insert link). Currently, however, it has only been possible to reduce part of the CO2 emissions and we therefore offset 100% of the remaining emissions in the entire value chain. To this end, we have set up the "Efficient Cookers in Peru" carbon offset project with the myclimate organisation. This project aims to reduce CO2 emissions, improve the living conditions of the local population in the long term and protect Peruvian forests.
We would like to start further initiatives in this important area in the future and document these offsets. In addition, we will of course continue to pursue our consistent path of reduction in the future.

myclimate Logo

More sustainable packaging

We are working hard to make our packaging increasingly sustainable!
It is essential that all our products have extremely high-quality packaging. This ensures consistency of flavour and ease of transportation.
If they were for immediate consumption, we could sell our chocolate products without packaging. However, since this is not possible, we will be improving our processes step by step. For example, we are currently reducing the amount of our chocolate bar packaging materials by up to 20%. Further packaging optimisation measures will follow.

Minor Produkte Hand

Nachhaltigkeit wird bei Maestrani auch direkt auf den Produkten sichtbar: So hat Maestrani im September 2022 für das gesamte Markensortiment von Minor die «All Natural»-Initiative lanciert.

 

Nachhaltigkeit ist seit jeher in der DNA von Maestrani verankert. Und auch in Zukunft geht Maestrani in puncto Nachhaltigkeit einen grossen, wichtigen Schritt: Maestrani lanciert das All Natural Programm! 
All Natural umfasst vier wichtige Nachhaltigkeitsbereiche:


- Einsatz von ausschliesslich natürlichen Inhaltsstoffen
- 100% Max Havelaar Fairtrade zertifizierter Kakao
- bewusster Verzicht auf Palmöl
- 100% Klimaneutralität dank Kompensation der CO2-Emissionen (mehr Infos zur Kompensation und Reduktion unserer CO2-Emissionen findest du unten)

Daneben ist es uns ein wichtiges Anliegen, auch unsere Verpackungen immer nachhaltiger zu machen.
All Natural wird schrittweise auf dem gesamten Markensortiment von Minor umgesetzt. Mit dem «All Natural» Programm nimmt Maestrani einmal mehr seine Pionierrolle im Schweizer Schokoladenmarkt wahr.

 

100% natürlich

100% Fairtrade-Kakao

Verzicht auf Palmöl

Kompensation der Emissionen

100% natürlich

Unsere Minor-Produkte bieten einen besonders natürlichen Genuss:
Darum verzichten wir vollumfänglich auf künstliche Zusatzstoffe.
Wir sind schon weit gekommen: Alle Schokoladenprodukte von Minor sind 100% natürlich. 

Wald

100% Fairtrade-Kakao

Die Produkte von Minor kann man mit einem guten Gewissen geniessen: Sie sind fair dank Max Havelaar!
Die Max Havelaar Fairtrade-Zertifizierung bezeugt, dass unsere Produkte fair sind: So sind zum Beispiel die Bezahlung von Mindestpreisen an die Kakao-Bauern und einer Fairtrade-Prämie zentrale Elemente der Zertifizierung. Zudem setzt sich u.a. Fairtrade auch dafür ein, durch seine Standards und die Mitarbeitenden der Produzentennetzwerke vor Ort, Kinder vor Kinderarbeit zu schützen. Die Einhaltung der Fairtrade-Standards wird durch die unabhängig Organisation FLOCERT überprüft.

Kakaofrucht

Bewusster Verzicht auf Palmöl - Minor-Produkte sind palmölfrei!

Der Einsatz von Palmöl in Süsswaren ist umstritten: Es gibt Vor- und Nachteile für den Einsatz von Palmöl. Maestrani hat sich entschieden, auf Alternativen zu Palmöl zu setzen – darum sind die Produkte von Minor palmölfrei.

Landschaft

Kompensation der Emissionen myClimate

Naturgemäss verursachen die Rohwarenbeschaffung und die Herstellung von Schokolade CO2. Seit vielen Jahren reduziert Maestrani seinen Ausstoss an CO2 (mehr Infos dazu findest du in unserem Nachhaltigkeitsbericht --> Link einfügen). Aktuell konnte jedoch nur einen Teil der CO2-Emissionen reduziert werden und darum kompensieren wir die verbleibenden Emissionen in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette zu 100%. Dafür haben wir mit myClimate das Klimaschutzprojekt «Effiziente Kocher in Peru» auf die Beine gestellt: So werden CO2-Emissionen reduziert, die Lebensbedingungen der lokalen Bevölkerung langfristig verbessert und der peruanische Wald geschützt.
Wir möchten in Zukunft in diesem wichtigen Bereich noch weitere Initiativen starten und unsere Kompensationen weiter dokumentieren. Daneben halten wir natürlich auch zukünftig an unserem konsequenten Reduktionspfad fest.

myclimate Logo

Nachhaltigere Verpackungen

Wir arbeiten intensiv daran: Unsere Verpackungen werden immer  nachhaltiger !
Für alle unsere Produkte ist es essentiell, dass diese besonders hochwertig verpackt sind. So schmecken sie immer gleich gut und man kann sie gut transportieren.
Für den Sofort-Verzehr könnten wir unsere Schokoladenprodukte auch ohne Verpackung verkaufen. Weil dies aber nicht geht, werden wir uns schrittweise verbessern. So sparen wir zum Beispiel aktuell bei unseren Stängeli Verpackungen bis zu 20% Verpackungsmaterial ein. Weitere Verpackungsoptimierungen werden folgen.

Minor Produkte Hand